Charley Davidson by Darynda Jones

So I have ventured into the paranormal genre. Now I am not much for this genre typically however in the last year or so I have been reading more of it for the simple fact that I can’t seem to find that alpha type hero with a story to go with it so I’ve cautiously started reading in the paranormal genre. That being said I have been reading the ones that seem to have more of a story to it instead of just the paranormal aspect. Darynda Jones just released the eleventh book in the Charley Davidson series and there seemed to be a lot of people excited over this, so I decided “hey I’ll read the first book see how it goes and if I don’t like it oh well”. Well lets just say it was awesome! I read all eleven in about a week and a half and I laughed my ass off! I loved Charley’s hilariousness, she made everything so much more funnier then I could ever imagine. Her and her best friend Cookie were just too much, but what a fantastic friendship they have, everyone needs a friendship like those two. Now Reyes Farrow phew what can I say about this super delicious man! Son of Satan or not he definitely had sex appeal like no other! I loved the whole story line with her being a Private Investigator. The trials and tribulations she went through gave the story a totally human aspect which made everything paranormal seem more realistic to me and gave the story so much depth and suspense, which had me up into the late hours seeing what would happen next.  Now something that would normally be a complaint for me in most books was not in this book and that is the small amount of sex scenes. Normally I prefer way more than the amount that were in these books however Darynda did these scenes extremely well and really with all the story going on it likely would have taken away from the story line to have them going at it 24/7 like some authors do. She also added that sexy banter between Charley and Reyes that gave it that anticipation and chemistry that builds up their relationship so the actual sex scenes she did put in were fantastic and more weren’t needed. Great job Darynda! As I said I read these books in just over a week, I was in the mood for a series like this that was continuous and a longer series of books, however that being said reading all of them back to back maybe wasn’t the best way to do it. Don’t get me wrong I loved them and recommend then to everyone, and I wanted the next one as soon as I finished the last one and still want the twelfth book now. However reading them back to back like that may have made it easier for me to see things I may not have had I read them more sporadically. Like for instance why does Reyes have no real trust for Charley he continues to believe she will eventually leave him if she remembers certain things or figures out her abilities and what not, she always remembers or figures it out by the end of the book and she still loves him why can’t he put more trust in her? Also why does everyone seem to do things that will ‘protect’ Charley or want to keep her out of certain situation when realistically she could help them drastically or she figures it out and gets hurt in the process cause the didn’t tell her anything. I don’t know I loved all the books but I felt like poor Charley got a shitty deal sometimes, but that being said it gave you those feels and only added to the story so it likely was needed, going forward though I really do hope Reyes can trust her more so they can work together instead her kinda fighting so much on her own. Really great writing I loved the hilarious situation and that’s what I wanted but got way more with this story! Definitely read these fantastic book and I can’t wait for more from this series or really anything Darynda Jones writes! I’ve added the series reading order and links if anyone is looking to start this series!

First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson Book 1)

Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson Book 2)

Third Grave Dead Ahead (Charley Davidson Book 3)

For I Have Sinned (A Charley Davidson Story): A HeroesandHeartbreakers.com Original

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet (Charley Davidson Book 4)

Fifth Grave Past the Light (Charley Davidson Book 5)

Sixth Grave on the Edge: A Novel (Charley Davidson Book 6)

Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson Book 7)

Eighth Grave After Dark: A Novel (Charley Davidson Book 8)

Brighter Than the Sun

The Dirt on Ninth Grave: A Novel (Charley Davidson Book 9)

The Curse of Tenth Grave: A Novel (Charley Davidson Book 10)

Eleventh Grave in Moonlight: A Novel (Charley Davidson Series)

I added the novellas where she has them on her website and also below I’m going to add the bundled books because they are usually a better deal and who doesn’t love a bundle haha

The Charley Davidson Series, Books 1-3

The Charley Davidson Series, Books 4-6



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s